The Green Lantern Corps Message Board

Go Back   The Green Lantern Corps Message Board > Miscellaneous > Action Figures & Toys > Custom Figures
FLASHCHAT

Old 10-17-2007, 05:03 AM   #1
Jack-O-Lantern
Master Customizer

Thumbs up Jack-O-Lanterns custom GL Figs

I am currently trying to put together a custom DC Direct figure of my own. I've read some of the proccess you guys go through and from other sources I've found online. But I figured I'd ask a couple questions to see what the bests methods would be.

I noticed alot of people use acrylic paint. But do you use spray paint or brushes. I've started out using spray paints but it seems like it's taking forever. Coat after coat. But I figured if I used brushes then it would come out uneven or show brush strokes....

With Sculpee, or whatever people use to sculpt. How do I make it solid? Does it need to be cooked? How do I do it?

I'm new to all of this. I feel stupid asking what is probably obvious questions, but I really want to make this come out right. When I'm done I'll post pics up on here.

So far I bought the figure for the body I want. I removed the head and arms. Now I just need to finish the black paint on the body and add all the details to the costume. Then I will paint the head and sculpt the mask but I just need to know the best way to go through the whole process. Hopefully you guys can help me with this. Thanks!

Last edited by Jack-O-Lantern; 08-31-2009 at 05:31 PM.
Jack-O-Lantern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 05:17 AM   #2
GLJIMT

Sculpty - sucks major ass and does need cooked the only way to do it on a fig is to hold a lighter to it.

From what I've found online seems like the best stuff everyone likes is "Green Stuff" - google that and it will give you the actual product name I think its Kneadite

according to ringslinger74 one of the best GL customizers out there multi layers of paint make it way easier to scratch the paint I think he uses a brush
Old 10-17-2007, 06:15 AM   #3